thekeithyeager

thekeithyeager

Thoughts from my Big Book of Everything

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Planking?

May 20, 2011 , , ,

Stop me if you have heard of this, I just learned of it tonight through a friends Facebook which lead to a mass cram session online.  Planking.  If there is one thing that Americans have always done well, it is laying down.  Lets face it we are a very creative culture, we are just as lazy.  Planking is a game that involves laying down and having a pictures taken, sounds simple, right?  When you think of planking, think extreme laying down.  This new craze is along the lines of Pole-sitting or Balconing.  Think of the weirdest place that you could lay down flat on your belly stretched out like a plank, then have one of your friends take a picture and put it online, Planking.  The origins of planking begin in Europe and Japan, but only became popular this year in Australia before we Americans had to get involved to show the world we could lay down with the best of them.

I know the first thing to come to your mind is “why, that seems so stupid?”  That was my thoughts to begin with also.  As I have read more about it, the why has begun to slip away, but the stupid is still there.  Who of us does not like to do stupid stuff with there friends?  While it doe not seem like the most creative game out there I would like to make a prediction that Planking will be the next Youth Ministry Craze.  That’s right Youth Pastor, go get your teens, sign those release forms and lets show the world how well Americans can lay down.

Lord please protect us, your children, as we do childish things.  We are so glad that you have gifted us with imaginations, and humor.  You are a great God and we praise your name.

Disclaimer: I am in no way encouraging Planking or trespassing.  Please do so at your own risk, and yes I will be trying this at some point myself.

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.