thekeithyeager

thekeithyeager

Thoughts from my Big Book of Everything

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Legacy

May 17, 2011

With the passing of my wife’s grandmother seemly drawing near, I am left with the thoughts of growing older and mortality.  How will I be remembered, will I be missed in ministry?  I have seen many people go in my life, finishing the race well or just finishing.  I have always tried to run with all my heart.  I am reminded of the legacy of some mighty men that never existed, Rocky who people remember for his determination, Goku who will be remembered for his might strength in heart and body, and the Apostle Paul who coined the phase of the race of life.  In talking with my father this week he reminds me that everyday could be our last, and if today was my last have I completed everything that God has for me to do?  Today I have been a Pastor, a servant, a father, a husband, a son, an employee, a tech wiz (self entitled), and a mere man.  For everyday that I am blessed with I will try to do the best with what I have been given, to be a better Pastor, servant, father, husband, son, employee, tech wiz, and man.  When the day comes that I breathe my last I do not wish to be remembered for my determination or strength, but that which was given to me by my God, for without Him I would be none of these things that I mentioned.  So for today I continue to run the race rejoicing in the memories of all those who have ran before me and for those who will run after I am done.

God today I ask that you will give us your strength and determination.  I ask that you will not only be with my family during this time, but with all of our families helping us to treasure the times that we have together.  Lord when the time does come, please welcome Francis with open arms and allow her to take rest from a long race well run.  Amen

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.