thekeithyeager

thekeithyeager

Thoughts from my Big Book of Everything

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Father, Pastor, Friend

August 17, 2015

Father, Pastor, FriendA wise pastor once told me, “if you can do anything else and be happy, do it.”  This statement was made to me when I was first feeling called into ministry.  He went on to explain that ministry isn’t for everyone and and it will cost you everything.  I thought long and hard about this and wrestled with God for many years, this was not something that I could be happy without.  So I gave Him everything for the promise of nothing.  Now I know what you are thinking that doesn’t sound like a very fair god, or some of you deep thinkers and theologically minded individuals might want to challenge this with scripture, but let me explain.  You see when I say that it cost me everything I am talking more of aligning my thoughts and goals with His, allowing my dreams and hopes for the future to become God’s hope and dreams for me.  If you have talked with me in the past week you know what I am talking about.  You have seen me at my worst and God at His best.  I have had nothing left to give except what God has given me to pass on.  The love that I shared was His, the grace that I shared was His, along with the patients, wisdoms and words.  If you know me I care deeply about people, I am a fixer, a mentor and a nurturer and I hate it when I am separated from the ones that I am closest to.  It all started with my daughter Alexis, she is growing up so fast and start first grade last week.  She loves school, friends and life.  She has one of the best teachers that we could ask for but first grade hit me like a ton of bricks.  Alexis is the only biological child that we have but I have been blessed with many spiritual children over the years, it was a very big week for them as well.  I had the blessing of helping move two of the girls into Cedarville University this past Friday, Oh yeah that was hard and something I thought I had years before I would have to experience those feelings.  I was also invited to officiate the wedding of my first spiritual daughter this weekend which brought the whole family together.  The time of prayer that I had with her before the service is something that I will remember the rest of my life.  I was a great weekend for sure and another chapter turned in life.  My last blessing was to drive “My Ecuadorian” to the airport today.  Felipe has been staying with us for the past month following a reverse missions trip that he came to dayton for.  It has been a honor to return the favor and open up my home to him as his family has done for me every time I have travel to Ecuador.  With ministry there is a lot that I have had to give up but like everything else with God, He give you back in multiplication.  To be a friend is good, to be a pastor is better, but my greatest calling has been that of fatherhood, both with Alexis and all the spiritual children that call me dad.  Now lets get on to next week and see what God has in store, but only after I take a short introvert break and watch some cartoons.

2 Cor 5:7 “For we live by faith, not by sight”

 

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.